Shook up world

I walked tonight and listened to Aretha Franklin‘s Delta Meets Detroit compilation. It is my favorite selection of music and I never get tired of listening to it. (N.B. I want this played when I am sent off into the fires of hell please).  I always go back to it when I have things on my mind. The other day someone remarkable, remarked to me, “I can only imagine the fights in your head.” Oh my friend, you don’t even know the half of it. So it’s been on high rotation lately.

It got me thinking to the music I choose in my writing. Music plays an important role in my life. Hell, I even went to university to study the subject. My idea of a good Saturday night was making new play lists for my iPod.

The music I choose for my characters, is the soundtrack to their lives. The tunes tell me so much about who they are. I think of the people and moments in my life with songs. Now I think of characters with songs.

Top of the play list right now for my next book are:

and

  • Aretha Franklin

I will leave you with the best song I know. Duane Allman on guitar, Aretha rockin’ the mike. Almost perfect.

Leave a Reply

