Face Rut

Recently I demanded a make over. Not for my clothes or hair but for my makeup. I had been wearing the same shade of  Stila Kitten eyeshadow for years. The same Bobbi Brown lipsticks in self effacing tones and a Nars blush from 2002.

I walked into Mecca, chose the most stylish gal in an apron and demanded, “Do me.”

She took her job seriously and looked me over like a blank canvas. I had deliberately arrived with a clean face, naked of paint and she held my chin and then nodded to herself as though given approval to her own ideas.

I let her go for it and soon she turned me to look into the mirror.

New face, new attitude. Me likey.

“This is the Nars colours the women wear in Mad Men on their eyes.” She said as though this meant something to me. (I must be the only person in the world who doesn’t watch Mad Men.)

The cheek colour was cute but it was the lip colour that made my day. A Nars velvet matte lip pencil in a shade called Pop Life. Oh how I love thee. Howevere now I see myself falling into a new rut, this lipstick will become my new weapon of choice and in two years time I will be bitchin’ about how I only ever wear this shade of lipstick.

I know myself so well.

Leave a Reply

