Twist and Shout

“Whatever happened to chivalry? Does it only exist in 80’s movies? I want John Cusack holding a boombox outside my window. I wanna ride off on a lawnmower with Patrick Dempsey. I want Jake from Sixteen Candles waiting outside the church for me. I want Judd Nelson thrusting his fist into the air because he knows he got me. Just once I want my life to be like an 80’s movie, preferably one with a really awesome musical number for no apparent reason. But no, no, John Hughes did not direct my life.”  Olive Pendergast – Easy A.

Last night I watched the movie, Easy A.

It’s a  fun, witty little film with some great scenes between  Emma Stone, Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson. These are the best parts of the movie and jesus almighty,  Emma Stone can deliver a line.

Yes, go ahead and mock me. I was bored in The Social Network and I liked Easy A.

You know what?

Don’t care. :p

I am of a certain age where I no longer care about everything and quite frankly, I want to be entertained not educated. Heavy books, heavy films, heavy conversations? No thanks. I have enough heavy in my own life without it permeating my down time.

Self protection is what I like to call it. War earthquakes, uprisings, rape, floods, locusts, Shane Warne/Liz Hurley. The list of horrors on the news makes me shudder. I have watched enough news in my lifetime to know how it ends. I figure that someone will tell me know if I need to know something drastic that will change my world forever.

My parents watch four lots of news a night, not included the radio that is on all day, stuck on ABC.

Does this news make their lives better?  Are they more informed and able to help the citizens of Christchurch? When my mother rings me in the afternoon and says, “I can’t watch anymore of the crisis in New Zealand.” and I hear the television on in the background. I know she can listen and she is listening and then she will ring me to tell me about all the little details. You feeling me?

And please don’t tell me I am not au courant. I bring you a website of Kim Jong il looking at things. Makes me laugh. He is such a dick.

So I bring you the bearable lightness of being that is Ferris. Ferris is my go to when I feel like shit. Actually any John Hughes film is my go to.

Stay light.



One thought on “Twist and Shout”

  1. I LOVED Easy A. My gorgeous husband didn’t get it. Ferris, Judd, 16 Candles, Lawnmower love rides were my ‘go to land’ as a teenager. Days of boarding school, quoting movie lines. ‘out of the country, washing my hair’ …. ‘that’s my favorite one’ still make me smile 20 years on. I agree with you Miss Kate. We need a bit of brain candy, some light relief, the chill out zone. My parents are the same althougth s.l.o.w.l.y they are moving into their own world which is kinda cool to watch.

    Easy A reminded me of the days when you dreamt & fantasized about boyfriends. That twilight zone of youth that seems to to be endless when your in it and over to fast when your gone.

    Love you, love your blog. Keep it up sister. Bx

Leave a Reply

