Harping On

Now that J.K Rowling is not writing as prolifically as she was, books and futureproofing literacy needed a new hero to step up and take on the mantle of responsibility. That person is here so fret not more, for it is the one and only…

Victoria Beckham

Yes, that’s right.

Since the naming of their little baby girl, Harper, after Victoria’s favorite book, To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Did you know she had read this tale of racism, oppression, injustice, all told through the eyes of an eight year-old child. Read the book? Seen the movie?  Both are flawless. *sigh

The question is, has Victoria read the book? She was once quoted in saying,“I haven’t read a book in my life. I haven’t got enough time. I prefer to listen to music, although I do love fashion magazines.” 

Meanwhile, since the naming of Harper Seven, the Daily Mail reports –

“Sales of To Kill A Mockingbird have risen by an astonishing 123 per cent on Amazon.co.uk after David and Victoria Beckham chose to name their daughter after its author Harper Lee.

The novel, which was first published in 1960, rose to number 38 in the bestsellers charts after the power couple’s naming of their little girl prompted fans to read the classic book.”

All over the world eejits are trying to pronounce Atticus and Calpurnia and wondering if Scout is a Scout and why isn’t she a Brownie, if she’s a girl but then I wonder if people will get the message.  I hope so. People surprise me, sometimes it’s a good surprise.*crosses fingers

I leave you with the words of Atticus Finch;

I’m simply defending a Negro… there’s been some high talk around town to the effect that I shouldn’t do much about defending this man…If I didn’t I couldn’t hold up my head in town, I couldn’t represent my county in legislature, I couldn’t even tell you or Jem not to do something again.” Atticus Finch

Don’t you love it?

 

4 thoughts on “Harping On”

  1. Funny you should write about this, looking through the lastest Who last night, I could not believe how many celebrity babies have been named Harper-there are about 5 in the last year!Obviously ‘the’ girls name of the mo!

    1. I know what you mean. So many Harpers. I thought Willow would be the new IT name. I know a few Willow’s but Harper has gone nuts. I am surprised she went with such a popular name. I am also surprised she has read the book, in fact any book. Neil Patrick Harris, Dave Grohl, Tiffani Thiessen, and Lisa Marie Presley all have little Harpers. The link? All B Grade. I have a friend whose son is called Harper. It suits him but I’m sure his mother is now horrified for him. He gets Harps, which works.
      I wished she called it something more unusual like her boys names. Could have been gold, instead it’s copper. *sigh

  2. My daughter is Matilda Rose. We named her when we were 20 weeks pregnant, and then just weeks before she was born, Heath Ledger died and I discovered that our beautiful name had already been used by Heath Ledger’s daughter, and that OUR name was in every headline. I remember being very pregnant and crying inconsolably that everyone would think we copied some celebrity baby name.

    1. Oh I hear you on this one Lisa. I was territorial about my children’s names. Incredibly worried they would become zeitgeist. Thankfully they didn’t instead I received odd looks from some and applause from others. Now when I hear someone has named their child ‘my’ names, I am a little more relaxed but they are few and far between.

Leave a Reply

