Lately- My Life

I have been writing and watching films. A long list of films that I have recorded and have finally watched in between writing. This is my life. Write, watch film in background. Drink coffee. Eat. Do housework. Write. Make dinner, Write, watch another movie. Yes, I am slowly going insane.

Films watched  in the past week:

Beginners Christopher Plummer, Ewan McGregor, Mélanie Laurent. Okay, I can’t say enough good things about this film. I adored it and Christopher Plummer was amazing. Really. Totally deserved the Oscar. Just when I thought the film was losing momentum it would draw me in again. Not a perfect film but I have been thinking about it for days.

How Do You Know?Reese Witherspoon, Paul Rudd, Jack Nicholson, Owen Wilson. How do I know? I know because I was bored and I know because there was no character development and I know because Jack Nicholson was phoning it in. That’s how I know it was shite. Oh yes and I knew because it’s a lame title for a movie. Film titles that are questions usually fail at the box office. Pay attention people.

P. S. In LA,  you get Paul Rudd when Mark Ruffalo isn’t available, so it never was gonna work. Ever. Paul Rudd is a sidekick, not the kicker.

An Extra ManKevin Kline, Paul Dano, Katie Holmes. Was it any good? Not really. Kevin Kline was superb. Katie Holmes was forgettable and Paul Dano looked like he was in a different film. Tried hard to be Rushmore but ended up being Rushless. (Man I tried so hard with that one and failed, I know but I’m gonna let it sit ‘cos it’s my blog.)

The RomanticsAnna Paquin, Katie Holmes (again), Josh Duhamel. Wow, there’s two hours I am never going to get back. I have sent Katie Holmes, who was also a producer, an invoice for my time.  Plot seriously Waspy people f*cking each other and then bitching about it. All while getting married at some beach house, in what looked to be freezing conditions. Tried hard to be The Big Chill but ended up being the Big Bore.

Tamara Drewe–  A Stephen Frears film. He is better than this I’m sure. I just couldn’t get through it. I tried. Not even on fast forward. Dastardly stuff, Gemma Arterton‘s shorts couldn’t save this one.

And that’s it for this week’s movie reviews.

 

 

One thought on “Lately- My Life”

Leave a Reply

