Life: The Power of Sleep

It’s before nine o’clock and I have cleaned the kitchen, stacked the dishwasher, unstacked the dishwasher, changed my bed, made the younger kid lunch, made a shepherds pie for dinner, cleaned the oven, fed the dogs and sent emails/thoughts about an overseas project.

Why? Because I didn’t have a sleep yesterday afternoon, even though my body was begging for it. I punched through and I went to bed by ten-thirty pm.

Sleep is the bees knees, yes? I know you agree.

Once upon a time, when I was cray cray, I didn’t sleep for more than two hours for weeks. Then I went three nights without any sleep before I cracked. It was not a good place. I remember standing in the back garden and trying to balance on some bricks along the back (don’t ask, I was thinking about trying out for Cirque Du Soleil) and I was on the phone to my doctor and weeping repeatedly, ‘I just need to sleep.’

Wow, what a shiteous memory but a great reminder that sleep is natures’s healer.

When my eldest kid had an eleven hour operation six months of age, she came out of it and threw a massive temperature. She also kicked out her morphine drip and screamed for eight hours straight. The doctor said she had to go to ICU. I argued that she needed a sleep (she has always been a baby bear) and could she have a private room (rare things in the children’s hospital).

They listened and found me a room but and said if she was still febrile after her sleep she still had to go to ICU. She slept for eighteen hours straight and when she woke, the temperature was gone.

The Dalai Lama says sleep is the best meditation. I agree wholeheartedly Mr Lama.

Peace out.

 

Do you like this picture? You can own it. Why, yes you can. Click here. From the Yellow Button Studio in Minnesota. Cute!!

2 thoughts on “Life: The Power of Sleep”

Leave a Reply

