Spirit: Shut Up

I am hopeless at looking after myself but exceptionally good at looking after others. Before you think this is about to be one of those, ‘Pity Me’ posts, I ask you to stick with me for a while.

I’m feeling run down, tired and low on words. After dropping off my Spiritual Business book to a new age stockist, I asked if they had a good relaxation massage therapist on staff. Not only did they have one but she would be free in an hour and a half, and she was very reasonable priced.

Not excuses Kate. So I booked.

That hour and a half wait was torturous as I though about all the reasons I shouldn’t go. Luckily it was only an 90 minutes because I would have cancelled if it were longer. I do this. I cancel on myself all the time.

Here’s the first thing that came up for me while I drooled through the hole in the table.

Then the self talk during the start of the massage was hideous. A series of reasons popped up as to why I am not worthy of that moment and how I could improve my life. The list of what I SHOULD be doing ran through my head. So many ‘shoulds’ that I wanted to punch myself in the head just so I could think ab0out something else for a moment.

Then my thoughts slowed down and I began to let them come in and go again. I didn’t pay much attention to them after a while, instead trying to stay present in the touch.

I thought about quote by Marianne Williamson that my friend put on his Facebook pages yesterday.

The fear-based ego uses two weapons against us: focus on the past, and focus on the future.

It resonated with me all day. I have been very focussed on what I haven’t done right in my life, what I should have done and what I should better do in the future. It’s all ego talk.

I don’t really care why I do it, I just want to stop.

The best piece of advice I have seen for this problem is to manage stress by thinking through what’s necessary rather than doing what feels necessary.

And then all I can do is be aware and let the thoughts come and go. Focus on the touch of hands and do what’s right for the greater good at the right time.

Leave a Reply

