Life: Creativity 101

I am overwhelmed with the desire to do something creative at the moment but I have to finish the book I am working on. I am wondering what I might like to do. Start an online magazine. Completely overhaul my garden. Move my furniture around. Make a collage. Cook. Dance. Sing.

All of these things have been vying for my attention lately. I don’t want to look, I want to do, and it’s driving me bats.

It’s because I’m meditating in the mornings. I am doing the 21 Day meditation challenge, thanks to my lovely friend who hooked me up. So much random sludge came up and I let it out with each breath so now I have made room for my creativity to bubble up.

A big thing that I became aware of is how much I rush from task to task without being truly present in my own process.

My friend posted this quote recently and it made me stop and consider my own life.

You have to decide what your highest priorities are and have the courage – pleasantly, and smilingly, nonapologetically – to say ‘no’ to other things. And the way to do that is by having a bigger ‘yes’ burning inside.’ ~Stephen Covey

How many yes’s do you say when you mean no?

My sister- cancer survivor and fierce single mother, once said to me, ‘Don’t wait to get cancer to learn to say no.’

Sister, I hear ya!

So get your creative skates on. Open you mind and set yourself free for a while. How you do it is you trip but whatever you do, have fun, enjoy and smile.

I plan to:

  • Write more of my YA book
  • Weed my garden
  • Listen to music
  • Breakfast with two of the most creative people I know
  • Plan my holiday
  • Read
  • Dance
  • Listen
  • Cook
  • Smile
  • Be.

Happy Saturday Creators.

Pic from here.

Leave a Reply

