Life: My Year As A Witch

Once upon a time, I went on a spiritual journey. Part of my awakening was doing some light level pagan work.

I loved this work, it was ritualistic and very connected to the earth. It invoked times past that resonated deeply within me.

I worked with two close friends and we took it in turns to work during the New Moon and the Full Moon. We didn’t miss a lunar cycle for a year.

For that year, nearly every spell I cast was to rid my sister of her cancer.

It was my faith and my touchstone to keep her alive. I handed over my fear to the world and asked them to take care of her.

By the end of that year we had wished for many things. We witnessed magic and heartbreak and love.

I like to believe in magic. I like to believe there are no coincidences. I like to believe in the power of intention. I like to believe we can get into the flow of the natural rhythms of the universe and work with it, not against it.

Fig trees and violets. Myrrh and benzoin. Laughter. Wine. Honesty and connection.

Incantations and poetry. Transits and transitions.

Now I know we have to get into the flow of the universe.

While it is possible to bend situations in your favour, usually it will snap back with triple force.

You can wish but then you have to let go of the outcome.

Find your current. Don’t swim against it, float down stream a while and see what’s waiting for you on the shore.

Be the wind.

Be careful what you wish for.

So mote it be.

4 thoughts on “Life: My Year As A Witch”

Leave a Reply

