Music: Playlists for Everyday

A long time ago, I used to sing professionally. I don’t miss it because I still have music in my life everyday.

I love finding new music, new singers, new styles and I consider myself open to everything. I will give it a listen, even if I end up disliking it, I can at least say I tried.

This weekend, my lovely friend played me Erik Satie’s Six Gnossienne on the piano. Now I’m obsessed and I’m finding it very relaxing as background music, while I write.

Writing music is always hard to choose, because lyrics distract but anything too moody ends up influencing your work.

In saying that, I recently wrote a YA book and listened to Hilltops Hoods, Horrorshow and Emeli Sande (Her album – Our Version of Events is very good actually) while I wrote.

I am filled with contradictions.

This morning on the drive to school, Erykah Badu’s Mama’s Gun accompanied me. Do you know this album? Seriously one of the best ever. I don’t get tired of it and Cleva is a superb piece of writing. Orange Moon is old skool Billie Holiday and Green Eyes is perfection. It’s hard to top this recording.

The greatest invention of the last five years has to be Genius. How much do you love the choices when you throw a playlist together?

Here’s one playlist I love:

Love and Happiness – Al Green

I Never Loved a Man – Aretha Franklin

Shining Star – Stevie Wonder

I Wish- Stevie Wonder

On & On – Stevie Wonder

I Wanna Be Your Lover – Prince

A Long Walk- Jill Scott

How Come You Don’t Call Me – Alicia Keys

I Say a Little Prayer-  Aretha Franklin

Dancing Machine – Jackson 5

Best of my Love – The Emotions

Tears Dry on Their Own – Amy Winehouse

Video- India Arie

I Feel For You – Chaka Khan

Every Ghetto Every City – Lauren Hill

Good huh?

I know.

Save your thanks for when you’re cutting up the rug, lovers.

Later.

Leave a Reply

