Life: Pomodoro 101

Since I came back from my mental health break in Perth, life has taken a new turn internally. I’m now motivated to do more things and less likely to be napping between the hours of 2-4 pm.

But, like most Taurus bullheads, we work until we drop. It’s not normal and nor is it good for you.

The answer to be still motivated but controlled in your output is to use the Pomodoro technique.

It’s a time management system that goes as follows:

  1. Decide on the task to be done
  2. Set the pomodoro (timer) to 25 minutes
  3. Work on the task until the timer rings; record with an x
  4. Take a short break (3-5 minutes)
  5. Every four “pomodoros” take a longer break (15–30 minutes)

Here is a great timer for you to use if you’re using your computer.

If you’re outside or doing housework, use the stopwatch on your phone.

What I have realised about myself is, besides writing, I don’t want to do anything for more than 30 minutes. Yesterday I managed to take the dogs for a walk, write 1500 words, cook, fold washing, plants some flowers and go to the supermarket. All in 30 min lots. I didn’t get overtired or tired of the task. I just moved through the day.

Then I remembered this clip from About A Boy.

I am Will Freeman.

Oh well, you can’t have everything.

2 thoughts on “Life: Pomodoro 101”

  1. I’m just starting back in an office environment and struggling with the “be at my desk for a straight eight hours.” I’m trying to do a 30-minute walk every lunch time, but I really like this idea to make sure I’m getting up and my eyes off the screen more often. Thanks, Kate!

Leave a Reply

