Life: Tidy up your Computer

Screen Shot 2013-04-07 at 9.31.37 AM

Yesterday I finished my next YA book, which had a crazy tight deadline. It was the first time ever I have pulled an all-nighter on a book.

Because of this schedule of trying to get the book finished in record time, many things were left by the wayside. Most of all, my files on the computer.

Dump on the desktop and think about filing it later, has been my process of late.

So, after I finished the book and emailed it off yesterday morning to editor and agent, I had an overwhelming need to clean my house.

This morning when I woke, that need to clean was back but this time with my trusty Mac.

search

How many people don’t back up their computer? Hands up? Yeah, don’t lie, I know many of you don’t and you will suffer one day, because nothing is failsafe, not even Mac. I have lost two Mac’s in my life, once when a harddrive failed and I lost everything. Another time, when a mirror/something went but this time, I had backed that baby up.

I learned my lesson big time.

Today I went through my desktop, (see gorgeous pic at top of post for the after photo, not gonna show before, cos’ it was shameful.)

Then I went through my email, cleaned out the junk, the trash, the crap and ordered it all.

Screen Shot 2013-04-07 at 10.26.30 AM

Then I went into my writing files, and ordered them into something that thrills me no end.

Screen Shot 2013-04-07 at 10.51.59 AM

Then I ran the software, Clean my Mac over the entire computer. I love this software, it makes my computer run like a dream afterwards.

clean-my-macmacamour

And finally, I used my Drop Box. Got one? There are lot’s of types. I use this one, which works fine. You can use Time Machine also, which is great, if you have Mac, there is no excuse not to use this.

As a writer, everything I have is in the hardrive of my computer and in my brain.

The paranoia I have about losing things is justified, because I have lost files that are irreplaceable. My entire book of Spiritual Business has gone after a hard drive it was sitting on, was knocked over and broken. It needed to be in two places and I didn’t check.

A writer I used to know, didn’t backup, only sent herself emails of her writing to an external account. I never understood why when she had a computer, she didn’t have decent backup plan.

Don’t chance it.

This is your warning.

Clean you computer.

Sort your files and back the fuck up!

2 thoughts on “Life: Tidy up your Computer”

Leave a Reply

