Music: Know Your Words

misheardlyrics

One of the absurd things that makes me laugh is misheard song lyrics. I think it’s after I heard that my sister’s best friend from her teen years, thought Madonna’s ‘Dress You Up In My Love’ was actually, ‘Dress You Up In Milo.’

Interesting.

The other day my daughter was singing Sweet Dreams by the Eurythmics, but instead of, ‘I travel the world and the seven seas,’ it was replaced with ‘I travel the world in generic jeans.’

In honour of this I add my personal top ten misheard lyrics:

Starship: We Built This City –My pony plays the mamba

Cee Lo Green: Forget You –And though Hussein’s in my church, I still wish him the best…

Robert Palmer: Addicted To Love –Might as well face it, you’re a dick with a glove.

Abba: Dancing Queen –See that girl, watch her scream, kicking the dancing queen

Traditional: We Wish You A Merry Christmas –Now bring us some friggin’ pudding

Madonna: Like a Virgin –Like a virgin touched for the thirty-first time.

Billy Joel: You May Be Right – You made the rice, I made the gravy, But it just may be some…

OneRepublic: Apologize –It’s too late to order fries

Toto: Africa – I left my brains down in Africa

Bee Gees: More Than A Woman – Bald-headed woman… bald-headed woman to me

Please sing these in your head and tell me you don’t laugh?

Or is it just me. Either way, I laughed so much at these this morning, I cried. Good start for a Monday.

Happy Monday to you songsters.

One thought on “Music: Know Your Words”

  1. Yep
    AUSSIE CRAWL – Beautiful People – “You tickle me balls”
    THE GO GO’S – OUR LIPS ARE SEALED – “Alex the Seal”

Leave a Reply

