Movie News: Gatsby Hype

tumblr_mmpted1w3L1rvwe7lo1_500

The reviews are coming in and they aren’t great, but this hasn’t stopped The Great Gatsby raking in $51M at the US box office on the weekend. The studio projected $30M, so this is a win for everyone.

My teenage daughter is desperate to see it, after being brainwashed by the marketing campaign around the soundtrack.

The song list for the album is below:

1. 100$ Bill – JAY Z

2. Back To Black – Beyoncé x André 3000

3. Bang Bang – will.i.am

4. A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got) – Fergie + Q Tip + GoonRock

5. Young And Beautiful – Lana Del Rey

6. Love Is The Drug – Bryan Ferry with The Bryan Ferry Orchestra

7. Over The Love – Florence + The Machine

8. Where The Wind Blows – Coco O. of Quadron

9. Crazy in Love – Emeli Sandé and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra

10. Together – The xx

11. Hearts A Mess – Gotye

12. Love Is Blindness – Jack White

13. Into the Past – Nero

14. Kill and Run – Sia

The song list leaves nothing open for interpretation. It’s an overt accompaniment to the narrative of the novel. (For those who don’t know the story of TGG,  I won’t ruin it for you with spoilers, but those who do know, am I right, or what?)

I love this novel. It was my first dip into American literature, and where my heart has stayed firmly ever since. I once fell in love with a boy because he had a handmade sign of  Dr T. J. Eckleburg over his bed.

I didn’t know anyone else in my age group who knew of The Great Gatsby, let alone the symbol of the God of Gatsby. It made me rethink all my boyfriends up to that point. If he didn’t read, then we didn’t swing hands.

In my research for the reviews of Gatsby, I found these two from Twitter, which I found hilarious.

Screen Shot 2013-05-14 at 9.19.01 AM

Screen Shot 2013-05-14 at 9.19.43 AM

Hop Hop. Love. It.

Will I see it? I doubt it. I’m too lazy and I already know it will annoy me. My kid will see it, and then I will be forced to hear all about it, and listen to the soundtrack in the car for the next two months.

Wish me luck.

“There are only the pursued, the pursuing, the busy and the tired.”

― F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

NB: Macaroons in situ. (Sigh.) This annoys me. It’s pop culture at it’s worst. Hate.

2 thoughts on “Movie News: Gatsby Hype”

Leave a Reply

