The girl has lost it

poem_about_life-436550

Over the past year, I have written:

  • Four short stories of 10,000 words each
  • Four Smitten books of 70,000 words each
  • Another Smitten, of 90,000 words
  • Two adults books of 90,000 words

and

  • Another young adult book of 60,000 words.

This list doesn’t include rewrites and edits.

The total is 650,000 words, almost to the day.

Is it any wonder I am exhausted?

I literally do not have any more words left. Even writing this blog is an exercise.

I am now officially taking some time off. Nothing to write and I won’t write again until the ideas bubble forth, tugging at my sleeve to be heard, like a small child.

I have one small project that requires some tweaking but there is no deadline on this, so I am marinating, dwelling, fallowing, hibernating.

I’m all out of ideas and I need to refill the well.

This weekend, I start my new life in my new magical house, and I am planning on looking after myself,  unpacking and playing house, and recharging through reading and walking.

Yesterday I read this poem. I think it should be more widely known. It is almost like a prayer.

This is the sort of thing I’m doing; reading poetry and wandering about my house with a roll of packing tape and some bubble wrap.

I’m not making any sense. I’ll come back to you when I’m sane again.

Mad love,

Kate

x

10 thoughts on “The girl has lost it”

  1. Let’s have a SPEAKING WORDS catch up one day! Coffee, crumbs, that kinda thing. You can just open your mouth and see what comes out. Or I can do all the words. Also: you are prolific!

  2. Congratulations chica, that’s a monumental effort! I suppose it’s not a good time to tell you about the short shory competition that Collins Bairnsdale sponsors that I think you should enter 🙂

  3. Moving is the most exhausting and exhilarating of times. Ditto being Ms house and garden of the year! Enjoy it all and please if you could combine all that into an adult fiction when the tank is overflowing I would be ever so grateful. X

Leave a Reply

