Food to free your mind

1ee5132f9c7868838d133d76c3dee9a0

A member of my family has a serious stomach issue and after searching for years, we finally found the answer. The FODMAP diet. It’s pretty amazing and they are finally able to eat properly again.

It’s gluten-free and onion and garlic free, which might sound like a pain but it’s not really. (There are lots of many other things you can’t eat, but it’s manageable, I promise.)

Did you know Buddhist monks, followers of Krishna and Jainists don’t eat onions or garlic as it messes with your inner peacefulness.

According to Ayurveda, they increase passion and ignorance.

In Buddhism, apparently they root the consciousness too firmly in the body.

In FODMAP terms, they ferment in your gut and make you sick.

Now I’m back cooking again, as I can create wonderful new FODMAP friendly foods.

In my research to find recipes, I came across The Whole Pantry app for your iPhone. Created by Belle Gibson, brain cancer survivor and now food maven.

Her app is possibly the prettiest thing I have seen in an app since forever and there is wonderful nutritional information on it, as well as vegetarian, gluten-free recipes. I am not a vegetarian, so I can add a protein if I need to, but gee it looks pretty and delicious.

1229904_233636366788657_1206655400_n

Yummo.

Now I’m off to edit the book. I got a front cover concept yesterday. So exciting. I can’t show you yet but it’s a ripper.

Instead I will show you another painting by my new favorite artist, Irene Hardwicke Olivieri of Oregon. (The one at the top is called- Where have you been?)

The one below is called My Little Tranquilizers.

my_little_tranquilizers

What I would give to be able to create like this…

Happy Thursday, foodies.

xx

3 thoughts on “Food to free your mind”

  1. Hi Kate. I have to follow a FODMAPS diet and at times I struggle. I miss all the foods on my banned list even though I know they are bad for me. Sometimes I lash out because life is too short not to have a piece of brownie once in a while!

Leave a Reply

