What keeps me awake at night

The other night I lay in bed thinking of an issue of Vogue from 1994.

Yes, it’s sad that I know what year, but remember, I used to collect magazines for fun, saving collector issues like other more people saved stamps.

I don’t own those magazines anymore, and sometimes I wish I did, like at 2am when I’m thinking of this issue of Vogue.

vogue-94

Yep. The Kidman, Luhrmann, CM issue.

I remember poring over issue with my old skool friends, when we all lived in Balaclava, and Carlisle Street in Melbourne, didn’t have a cafe in every second shop.

tumblr_lpa08qOoZ31qks8ero1_500

Nicole being noir. That’s Tom in the background.

Vogue-Australia-nicole-kidman-27716073-500-665

I do remember Nicole crowing about how she ‘designed’ this dress in the interview. Bless. A bit like when Katie Holmes started her own fashion label. You modify one Butterick’s pattern and suddenly everyone’s a fashion designer.

Vogue-Australia-nicole-kidman-27716080-519-922

15.nicole 17.nicoletom

Tom and Nicole doing some ‘acting’.

18nicole

Nicole doin’ some dancin’.

1a27330aacb4bda49185df5ef89cf09c

Having a Shirley MacLaine/Ann Margaret moment.

Vogue-Australia-nicole-kidman-27716081-600-825

Is it just me, or does Nicole look like Willy Wonka in the photo below?

Vogue-Australia-nicole-kidman-27716084-604-806

1160962_1356802112116_full

Nicole Kidman With Long Hair

This photo is actually so beautiful, it hurts. All bohemian and tragic. A little John William Waterhouse with a touch of Ophelia, non?

So yeah, this is what keeps me up at night. Going over the issues past, magazines that is, not personal.

Do you remember this issue? I know my old skool friends, Rachael and Jonah do.

Happy Saturday.

xx

Leave a Reply

