Blog Hop

 

This lovely exercise came from the very gorgeous Yvette at Bear Loves Dove. She is doing a Blog Hop, from the Blog With Pip course, run by the ever creative, Pip Lincolne at Meet Me At Mikes. I have to answer a few questions, which are as follows:

What am I working on?

Right now I am writing a new adult book, and editing a YA book. Both are a little more ‘real’ than my previous works. More centred in everyday, with everyday problems. I’m also trying to write a TV pilot, which is proving to be a challenge, as I haven’t written a script of this length before. I haven’t been blogging as much, as I haven’t had the time or inspiration. My home life is a little unsettled right now, and it is leaking into my writing. I need to remember how to separate the two.

Why do I write what I do?

I write because I have no other creative skills besides singing. I could sing you the story but I don’t think that’s going to work so well. I also love stories, and the arc of life. This is what I try and reflect in my work. The ebb and flow of happiness.

How does my writing process work?

My writing process varies depending on what is going on in my life. When I am more settled, it flows. I write best in the morning and the evening. Afternoons are for getting on with life and doing those pesky tasks that keep the world moving. I write using Scrivener, a writers software program. It’s more stable than Microsoft Word, and is well worth learning how to use it properly. I have a notebook for each project and I keep it on the desk next to me. I think best with a pen in my hand. I have a set of pens I like, from Officeworks. I buy boxes of them and chew the lids while I muse. They are cheap, which is good, as I seem to lose them easily.

How does it differ from others in your genre?

Humour? Reality? Characters with flaws? I don’t know how my writing differs really. You’d have to ask my readers. I often say what others think but don’t have the courage to say, or are too polite to mention. This might be my best/worst quality. It certainly gets me into trouble. I’m learning not to show up to every argument that’s around me.

And that my friends, is where I am at right now. Where are you at? Be here now, as Ram Dass says. The rest will all work out as it’s meant.

Happy Tuesday.

One thought on “Blog Hop”

  1. Thanks so much for joining in Kate I loved learning about your writing process.

    One of the things I love the most about reading your posts is the honesty! I reckon having the courage to say what most people think is a brilliant quality!

    ps. I think pens and socks end up in the same black hole!

Leave a Reply

