Here’s my take on blogging.

 

My lovely friend Pip, over at Meet Me At Mikes, posted a question about blogging, monetising, and generic content, which got me thinking about my own blog.

I have blogged since 2007. Eight years of my inner mind on display. Through those years, I have seen my sister face serious injury and a cancer diagnosis, bought a house, battled illness, changed careers, written twelve books, sold a house, supported my brother through cancer treatment and watched my father die.

I have always written as honestly as possible, and even though it made me an arsehole in the eyes of some, I am no longer dependent on the approval of others. If you don’t like what someone writes, then don’t read it, fairly simple advice that many seem to ignore.

I never thought I could make money from my blog because I am lazy and it seemed like a lot of work for a small reward. It’s similar to YouTube videos. If your video gets 1 million hits, you will earn approx. $2000.

That’s great if you upload a funny video of a cat in a box scaring people as they walk past. It cost you nothing to make and the cat isn’t asking for rollover fees (unlike dogs, they always have a bone to pick with rollovers).

Some videos are exhausting to watch. My 18-year old daughter used to watch Zoella and some other girls, showing off their fishtail braids and their ‘haul’ as they call the sponsored goods they get paid to talk about. Now she watches Netflix. She does not read blogs, especially not mine.

Has blogging become old fashioned?

(Am I Carrie Bradshaw? I always thought Carrie started the blogging craze, with her rhetorical questions typed onto the screen, Doogie Houser style, overlayed with her sexy baby voiceover. I digress in this dress.)

I write because I have to clear my cluttered mind. I have always kept a journal, written poetry, thought about characters, been obsessed with names, collecting sentences, and now I write for money, just not on my blog.

I believe, that by not allowing transactions on my blog, other than giving the reader something to think about, or amuse them, and them giving me a nice comment nice in return,  makes me honest. I don’t gloss over the shadows, instead I shine a light on them because they are what makes a person interesting.

There have been blog posts I have written and not posted because of the rawness and hurt in my words at what is going on in my life. There were posts that I was told I shouldn’t have posted because they were too raw and hurtful. There are posts that resonated and went all over the world and ones that sunk like a stone into the Great Internet Lake.

I am always more interested when I read of other people’s vulnerability. Not because of schadenfreude but because I see myself in other’s fragility. Anyone can have a perfect life online, not many have a truthful life.

So in that vein, here is the truth in my life right now.

  • I’m fat, so I am currently seeing an amazing woman who inspires me to not be fat.
  • I am working on a new book which has been horrendous to start, as I am exhausted from the last six months of illness and death.
  • I think I’ve cracked the back of the new book because I was up till 3am writing and woke up thinking about a particular character.
  • I miss my Dad, and him wandering around my house asking what jobs he can do for me.
  • I’m 44 this year. I don’t like 44. When I was crazy I used to see 444 everywhere. The Chinese number of death. I better lose weight or I will be dead.
  • I no longer take a sleeping pill that I took for five years. I feel good about it.
  • The other day I walked down Collins Street listening to cool music, feeling so fly, not realising I had a teabag hanging off my headphones.
  • I have exciting things going on in TV land but I’m not excited because I’ve been down this road before and it’s a long game and I am not considered the MVP.
  • I am reading a lot of poetry at the moment. It’s soothing. Read this one for some goodness and this one for some darkness.
  • I am enjoying cooking for my brother who is in dire need of a weight gain. I am also enjoying the eating which brings me back to my first truth.
  • Yesterday, I spoke to two gorgeous friends on the phone for ages. I am seeing another to break bread with at lunch.
  • I feel lonely most days but for whom or what, I am unsure.

And this is my old fashioned truth. Everything and nothing and probably you have your own truths. Everyone has something good and bad going on, the only way to cope is to see them as entirely equal. Light and dark. We need them both.

Peace out friends.

 

Kate

x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Here’s my take on blogging.”

  1. thank you for your beautiful light and dark honesty.
    the great internet lake made me laugh… your posts often make me laugh…. or cry… mostly feel…
    peace to you, may the numerology gods be kind to 44 x

  2. Great post. Love and appreciate the honesty. And it reminds me why I read your books – to escape. However we do need the dark and the light to truly appreciate

  3. Old fashioned or not, I enjoy your blog and, frankly, the teabag thing made me laugh like mad! I was listening to RRR this week and they were talking about an interesting difference between blogging and memoir – the former often involves talking it up and the latter tends to be so much more raw. I think at best the internet can be a tool for connection. Personally I prefer honesty either way. It helps us to get our bearings as we are all scrambling around. xx

  4. I love your truths and the honesty of your blog. My main truth at the moment is that my studying while being a full time working Mum has hurt my family more than I ever imagined. My children are desperate for my time and attention, and my husband and I are drifting apart. Oh, and I am fatter than I’ve ever been because I eat to keep the assignment deadline demons at bay. And my blog has suffered too! But my course ends on 13 June this year. On 14 June I step back into my like again – what will I find there? Eeek!

    1. Ah. I know this pain BUT you have to continue your studying. Do not give up. Your children will learn more from you finishing than anything else you can tell them. Do some exercise with your husband. Catch up and burn some fat. Take the kids also! You can do it, I believe in you!

Leave a Reply

